Pages Navigation Menu

Natural History & Fine Arts Museum

Workshops

 

Many spring workshops have been postponed until summer.  Please check back soon for new dates and details.

 

Painting

Watercolor Painting Techniques

Mondays, April 6 – May 11 | 10:30am-1:30pm | Instructor: Barbara Farrell

POSTPONED

 

 

Art Uncorked: Margarita Glasses

Tuesday, May 5 | 6:30-8:30pm | Instructor: Kelly Drumm-Frederick | Ages 21+

 

 

 

 

Fused Glass

 

Fused Glass Jewelry

Thursday, March 26 | 6-8:30pm | Instructor: Jayne Herring

 POSTPONED

 

 

 

Small Square Dish

Thursday, April 9 | 6-8:30pm | Instructor: Jayne Herring

POSTPONED

 

 

 

Draped Candle Holder

Thursday, May 21 | 6-8:30pm | Instructor: Jayne Herring

 

 

 

 

Art

 

Japanese Paper Marbling (Suminagashi)

Thursday, March 19 | 6-7:30pm | Instructor: Anna Wolff

POSTPONED

 

 

Field Poppies Fusing Quilt Workshop

Saturday, May 30 | 9:30am-12:30pm | Instructor: Frieda Anderson

Rescheduled from the original March 28 date

 

 

 

Rubber Stamping Handmade Cards

Saturday, April 4 | 12-3pm | Instructor: Sue Marshall

CANCELED

 

 

 

Candle Making

Thursday, May 14 | 6-8pm | Instructors: Anna Wolff, Jenn Edginton

 

 

 

 

Intro to Ikebana (Japanese Floral Design)

Saturday, May 23 | 1-2:30pm | Instructor: Laurie Wareham

 

 

 

 

Beginner Zentangle

Saturday, June 13 | 10am-1pm | Instructor: Dr. Sally Stanton

 

 

 

 

Baskets

Easter Egg Basket

Saturday, April 25 | 10am-4pm | Instructor: Sandy Bulgrin

CANCELED

 

 

 

Fruit Bowl Basket

Saturday, May 30 | 10am-4pm | Instructor: Sandy Bulgrin

 

 

 

 

 

Blacksmith

Basic Blacksmithing: Horseshoe Game Set

Tuesday, April 14 | 5:30-8:30pm | Instructors: Dan Joyce, Jenn Edginton | CANCELED

 

 

Basic Blacksmithing: Slingshots

Tuesday, May 26 | 5:30-8:30pm | Instructors: Dan Joyce, Jenn Edginton

 

 

 

Intermediate Blacksmithing: Viking Style Woman’s Knife

Tuesdays, May 5-12 | 5:30-8:30pm | Instructors: Dan Joyce, Jenn Edginton

 

 

 

 

Kids Workshops

Get Arty

Fridays, April 17, April 24, May 15, May 29 | 9:30-11:30am | Instructor: Tiffany Knopow

MAY DATES STILL AVAILABLE!   (APRIL DATES CANCELED)

 

 

 

Civil War

 

Civil War Medicine: Technology in Transition

Saturday, April 4 | 1-3pm | Instructor: Trevor Steinbach

CANCELED

 

Beyond the Battlefield: The Civil War Social History Forum

Saturday, April 25 | 8:30am – 3:30pm

CANCELED

 

Media Club – Woman’s War: Fighting and Surviving the American Civil War

Monday, May 4 | 7-8:30pm | Instructor: Doug Dammann

 

 

History Happy Hour: Chicago’s Biggest Serial Killer

Thursday, May 7 | 7-8:30pm | Instructors: Jenn Edginton, Samantha Machalik

 

 

Women in History Tea: Meet Elizabeth Keckley

Saturday, May 9 | 1pm